Sparking the Creativity, Love, and Playfulness of the Human Spirit

Heh heh

“I’ve learned that no matter how serious your life requires you to be, everyone needs a friend to act goofy with. It kind of brings you back down to earth.”
I’m glad to say I have one of those. Long ago he took classes and became a clown as a means of augmenting his income. The first time I saw him entertaining a bunch of kids whose parents he knew at a birthday party for his son, I laughed my ass off. I’d known him only 14 years at the time, had never seen that side of him, and it was a delightful discovery. We’re both older now, and he gave up being a clown professionally long ago, but… the clown is still in there. I see it in his eyes and his smile, and I know I can act goofy with him. And I do.
But I got an early start. I won’t bore you with the details, but I grew up in a situation that required either anger or a sense of humor. I chose humor. And it has buoyed me ever since. In school I was the class clown for a while. Thru a friend(?) I fell in with a gang of toughs while in high school. About the same time I heard Bill Cosby say, “If they’re laughing at you, they ain’t hitting you.” It is true. I also learned that girls like a guy who can make them laugh. My sense of humor not only got me through some tough times, but improved my social awareness and dating ability.
Somewhere down the line I finally realized that God has a sense of humor. Just look around.
The hard part is, you can’t know with whom you can be goofy until you are. Or they are. If they are, embrace the glee. Of course, there is a time and place for everything, so be careful at work, funerals, and other situations that require somber civility. And if you can do it without disparaging or demeaning another race, religion, ethnic minority, people disabled in some way, or blonds, etc…so much the better.
Which leaves only yourself. If you can poke fun at yourself, others will be likely to feel more comfortable with you. If you can’t, it’s time to start.
I see people every day walking around with permanent scowls etched in the lines of their faces, and I wonder how they got there. And I thank the powers that be that I’m not there yet, and say a little prayer for them and me.
In the spirit of continuing mirth, I’m adding some adages, thoughts, and whimsical meanderings I’ve found on the “social media”. Enjoy.
1. And God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the world. Then He made the world round…and laughed and laughed and laughed.
2. I love the ones who are in my life and make it amazing, and I thank the ones who left my life and made it even more amazing.
3. Sometimes the first step to forgiveness is realizing that the other person…is batshit crazy.
4. Sleep is like sex…I don’t get either one as much as I want.
5. I’ve learned so much from my mistakes, I’m thinking of making a few more.
6. I keep hitting escape, but I’m still here.
7. I have gone to find myself. If I get back before I return, keep me here.
8. Immature is a word boring people use to describe fun people.
9. If you don’t do a lot of stupid things when you’re you, you won’t have funny things to laugh about when you’re old.
LYAO
Namaste
Ramdassnt

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

