Sparking the Creativity, Love, and Playfulness of the Human Spirit

Eleanor Roosevelt. What a gal! Not just the wife of Franklin D., but a great thinker and wise woman in her own right. What follows are a few of her gems.

“No one can make you feel inferior without your permission.” 

Well, that pretty well sums it up. A healthy sense of self-respect or self-esteem will serve as a sounding board for others’  perceptions of you. If they’re treating you with respect, then you are in  agreement and can offer the same in return. If they are not, there are a  few options:

  • A) Say, “Thank you for your opinion,” and walk away.
  • B) Say “If I have said or done something that is causing you to “diss” me, I apologize. However I feel obligated to advise you that unless or until  you are able to alter either your perception or attitude, I feel any further discussion on the subject would be fruitless.”

I prefer A myself.

“You wouldn’t worry so much about what others think of you if you realize how seldom they do” 

In other words, “Don’t worry, be happy.” A wonderful song by  Bobby McFerrin. I like to listen to it once in a while just to remind myself that in this swirling miasma of daily life, when someone perceives you in a less than positive light due to circumstances or the context in which you both find yourselves, it works to “consider the source.” They could be having a bad day or life and are using you as a shipping post for their personal frustrations. Then consider  whether  there might be some truth in their perspective, which offers ‘grist for the mill” of personal growth should you choose to use it. First empathy, then introspection.

Of course, that’s just my opinion.

“You can often change your circumstances by changing your attitude.” 

Sometimes I just don’t feel like going to work. I think about calling in sick, but know I’d feel guilty if I did, which would lower my self-esteem and I’d probably let it ruin my day. So I hop in the car, and during the forty-five minute drive I find myself changing my  attitude with each mile. I’ve chosen to fulfill my commitment, know that I can make positive contributions, and the energy and mutual respect of my co-workers lifts my spirits. Plus, on the way home I feel better about myself about not wasting a day. Everyone deserves a “me” day once in a while just to loll, laze, gorge, indulge, and nap. I prefer to plan. ahead. Which is not to say I’ve never called in sick when I wasn’t. I just prefer to save my sick days for when I really am.

Well that’s it for now. Time for me to move along, gotta mosey on down the trail. With the pictures that follow, I hope you’ll take the time to take pen to paper with your feelings and opinions about them,  and share them with each other, either by commenting here or by  attending the “Building Sound Self-Esteem” workshop starting next week. Or BOTH! Go here to sign up: http://www.HumanPotentialCenter.org/Calendars/April12Descriptions.html#BuildingSoundSelfEsteem25

Meanwhile, “Happy Trails, and may the good Lord take a likin’ to ya” (Roy Rogers and Dale Evans)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

