Sparking the Creativity, Love, and Playfulness of the Human Spirit

On Gratitude

Thank you.

Short for “I’m grateful that you ________, and I want you to know it makes me feel good.”

It comes in many forms: a smile, a nod, a tip of the hat, and in most, if not all, languages.
I use it in a truly heartfelt way when tech support has walked me through a particularly enigmatic problem with my computer. Occasionally, words cannot express adequately what I’m feeling at those moments, and I begin to sputter half sentences in my search for exactly the right phrase and end up just saying “Thank you,” several times.

Gratitude.

Once in a while something goes unexpectedly right in my efforts to get through the day and I take a moment to look up and say “Thanks” to the powers that be. Recently I’ve quit watching the news and reading the paper. I finally learned that media industry complex is dedicated to creating controversy, to keep us all stressed enough to buy something that will help us feel better. No thanks.

I frequently have to remind myself that despite all the bad news, most of the rest of the world is just trying to get along, doing nice things for each other, saying thank you, being aware of our mutual interconnectedness, and choosing not to exploit it or expect anything in return. And sometimes I’ve been so positively rewarded by my connection to another that I’ve said “Thank you for being in my life.”

If I may indulge your patience a little longer, I’d like to list a few of the things for which I am thankful.

  1. For having survived the mental/emotional/physical ups and downs on this long and winding road with as few scars as I have.
  2. For being aware that many have helped on that road; strangers who became friends, family who became more than “next of kin,” and friends who have become family.
  3. For those I love and have loved, and those from whom I have received love.

I read recently that if you take the time at the end of the day to write down all the things you are grateful for that occurred that day, you’ll sleep better and “wake up feeling refreshed.”

I’ll keep you informed as to how that’s going as time passes.

Meanwhile, “try it, you’ll like it”.

And yes, I’m even grateful to the ad agencies who, over the years, have been brainwashing me with now trite phrases that I can slip into this blog once in a while.

Also, I’m very thankful for the Human Potential Center here in Austin. The HPC was the brainchild of Robert McGarey in the mid ’80’s. I only discovered it about 5 years ago and found it a “safe’ place just to “be”. As I am a movie nut, I began by going to the Saturday night showings of both recently released and occasionally obscure, but always rewarding films selected by Bob’s right-hand woman Pam Chambers.

Did I mention free popcorn?

I’ve also participated in many events, classes and outings with other members and have met  some truly remarkable and wonderful people over the years.

I invite you to “come on down” and take a peek. You will be treated with respect and compassion and will, whether you choose to participate or not, learn about yourself, universal connectivity and much more, all in a caring and creative way.

And who knows..you might even make a few new friends.

“We’ll leave the light on for ya”.

Sdgjghughy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

