Sparking the Creativity, Love, and Playfulness of the Human Spirit

5 miles, an hour and 8 minutes.

The first 3 or 4 minutes of my runs are usually the most uncomfortable, especially if I haven’t been running in a few days. It seems like my blood is thick as molasses, and it takes several minutes to get it flowing again. I just feel sluggish and don’t want to run until I push through that and get my blood flowing more easily. After that, it’s usually pretty easy to keep going, at least for an hour or so.

My thinking gets off to a slow start, too. During the first half hour, I usually think about my running shoes or how my shorts are binding on my legs or how that truck that just passed smells like exhaust. The more productive thoughts seem to start around 40 minutes into the run, about when the endorphins start to kick in. It seems like that’s when my perspective widens and I can start thinking in more profound ways. The world looks a little different, and I usually feel freer and more optimistic about my work and what I’m able to accomplish.

Of course, that’s useful when I’m working on a big project or preparing for presenting a workshop, like tomorrow night’s “How to be Assertive and Loving Too.”

So I don’t like to think that I run, therefore I think — in other words, that my thinking is a result of running. It’s more like one of the big reasons I run is so that I can think more effectively: “I think, therefore I run.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

