Sparking the Creativity, Love, and Playfulness of the Human Spirit

Second thoughts

OK, you gotta be kidding me. Already? I can’t believe I’m having second thoughts already.

But maybe this really is totally insane!

It’s over 100 degrees outside, and I’m going to start training for a marathon??? Gimme a break. That means I’m going to be spending hours and hours tromping on the trail instead of doing what an Executive Director is supposed to be doing, like networking and doing the accounting and getting ready for board meetings and applying for grants and seeing clients. We lost a major funder last September and we really need the funds, and now I’m planning to be spending hours every week just plodding down the trail?

Plus my running shoes are old and I’m running out of sun block and I don’t have anyone else to run with and there are morning meetings I need to attend and I’m feeling tired already. Oh, and did I mention it’s hot outside??? Would any sane person do this?

Strangely enough, though, as I was driving back to the Center from a networking meeting today, I crossed the bridge over Town Lake and looked down on the shady running trails encircling the lake, and felt a joy and peaceful sensation inside. There’s something about running those trails that brings back some profoundly moving, satisfying and tranquil memories. The trail is calling to me….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

